Border Rug – Progress 15

Life has gotten in the way for the last week or so, but I’ve finally got the center of this rug completed. It’s just about 5 inches deep – 64 threads. The inside of the large diamonds were filled in with all the colors of the rug using Smyrna Crosses. The red background is the lightest of the 4 burgundy shades I’m using for this rug. The stitch is Milanese. All the Milanese stitches slant away from the center. I’m glad to be past the halfway mark at long last!

Center-2

I won’t show this rug very often now, since there will be nothing new to show you. Just an occasional post when I have two or more of the bands done. There are 6 bands I need to repeat on the top half of the rug, plus the outer border all the way around. It’s still going to take some time to finish. This is the slowest rug I’ve ever stitched, but since it’s just for me it isn’t a problem. Here is the whole rug so far:

Border - Prog15

I have my Ott lamp close to the rug so the colors will show up well. It seems it was too close to the top part of the rug and the red in the center looks much lighter than is really is. The photo of just the center band is a better color representation of this Bordeaux color from Silk & Ivory.

6 responses to “Border Rug – Progress 15

  1. I watch your blog every day to see what fabulous rug your are stitching. I am in awe of your sense of colors, skill of design, and rate of finishing. Thanks for posting. I do enjoy it so much.

Leave a Reply

