Grieg by Dakota Rogers – Progress 1

I’ve started a new project (and I know I shouldn’t since I have so much going on already). I’ve wanted to do this piece for years so I’m happy to get it underway. I actually had everything in my stash except the Watercolors. The colors will work well with our master bedroom and I’m going to finish it as a stand-up piece when it is done. I’m outlining it brown as I go and will back it with brown fabric.

You start by tracing the shape of the cat onto your Congress Cloth and then stitching the head.

Grieg -1

Then you start to work on the body of the cat. Your first stitch is a very large Rhodes stitch in Kreinik braid – in the center of the body, but off to one side a little. The diagrams for stitches are excellent, and she starts you out telling you the first few steps. You decide which thread and color you want to use for each step. That way your cat doesn’t look exactly like anyone else. After you’ve done about 6 steps, she turns you loose to design and stitch on your own. I’ve been looking at the large photo of the body to decide how to proceed so far and I’ve changed colors from those she chose for each of the steps so far. I’m using the colors she has listed but changing things up a little. The large Rhodes stitch was done in blue in the model and I’m chosen to use a bronze color instead.

Greig-Prog1

It’s going to be a fun stitch, but I’m putting it away for a few weeks now. I have other things to finish up and this will be my incentive to get things done so I can get back to it.

5 responses to “Grieg by Dakota Rogers – Progress 1

  1. I love seeing your projects but I wish I knew more about needlepoint. I keep blowing up the photos and trying to figure out how the stitches were made. Hopefully one day I’ll have the time, but right now my plate is full with cross stitching projects. Two to finish before starting the Persian Iris Garden. Hopefully before spring! Merry Stitching!!

Leave a Reply

