Nothing Like Picking Your Own Present

My DH is terrific but he also knows how hard it is to find the perfect gift for me. But he knows I love my stitching, so when we were talking about what to do for Christmas, I told him I’ve always wanted a super tote for all my stitching in the living room. I usually have about 3 tote bags surrounding my chair to hold everything. So he told me to find exactly what I wanted.

So off to Come to the Point and a talk with Michelle. She had a Lee’s large tote that she recommended and I thought it was perfect. She had one in the shop and put it aside for me. She had told me the Lee #BR was the size to look for to find a canvas for the tote so I went browsing when I got home. I found one I wanted and she ordered it for me. Only one thing left to find – the threads. And I asked Michelle if she would pull the threads after the canvas arrived. (I needed something that would be a surprise!)

When the bag, canvas and all the threads were assembled, I went to pick it up and handed her a check. It was all in a paper tote bag which I handed to my DH and told him to stash it somewhere until Christmas. LOL  The perfect gift for me.

Here is a photo of the tote bag from the catalog – very large and mine is also black.

Screen Shot 2014-12-27 at 3.18.18 PM

The surprise was all the threads she selected and a stitch guide! I wasn’t expecting a stitch guide. Here is the canvas and threads (except for the floss I’m using for the background).

Snowman-1

The suggested stitch for the background was a light stitch (only one strand of floss) that was random long stitches. I was afraid that the long stitches might get snagged when the tote bag was used. But I liked the idea of horizontal stitches, so I tried several and decided on Horizontal Parisian using two plies of floss. I’ve started on that already on the right side of the canvas. The two plies are still light enough that the canvas shows through, so you can tell that the canvas is darker at the top and lighter as it approached the trees. And you can still see where the snowflakes will be added after everything else has been stitched. All the other areas will be Basketweave and Backstitch to outline various areas. The stitch guide tells me which threads and colors to use in each of the areas. This will be a fun, and hopefully quick, stitch. The tote bag is already filled with 6 projects, instructions and threads – 2 in each of the three large pockets. I’m going to be a busy (and very happy stitcher) for a long time. Yeah!

Thank you Michelle and DH!

5 responses to “Nothing Like Picking Your Own Present

  1. I absolutely love the snowman canvas, Jan! So many snowman canvases have Christmas-y colors, which I do like, but this one will look so rich with the browns. Michelle did a great job pulling the threads. I have my projects in a large basket in individual zippered project bags. Your tote definitely is fancier than my method of toting projects around! Have fun stitching this and let’s see that canvas inserted into the tote soon.

  2. Oh I have canvas envy! I have the tan version of that bag, and it’s still waiting for me to find the perfect canvas for it. Though it was a near thing with that Lee canvas of yours– when it came out a couple years ago I was really fond of it. You’re a lucky woman!!!!

Leave a Reply

