January D.E.S.I.G.N. – Heart’s Ease Examplar Works

DESIGN is a new concept this year from Leonore Winterer. Her blog is Needle, Pen & Sword. There is a link on her page to more information about this idea for the new year. D.E.S.I.G.N. stands for the Designer Everyone Should Instantly Get to Notice. People who have signed up will present designers that they love, or have just found, and talk about them and one of their designs. Hopefully, we will all get to know some new designers along the way that we will also fall in love with. This is a monthly format, but you don’t have to contribute each month.

What designer do you want to talk about this month?

I want to talk about Heart’s Ease Examplar Workes – Theresa M. Baird. Her blog is – heartseaseexamplarworkes.blogspot.com  I’m working on her Norfolk Diligence Sampler right now and just love it! This is the photo of the design from her blog.

Norfolk Diligence

 

This is the information she wrote about Norfolk Diligence on her blog in September 2013 before it was released:

Screen Shot 2015-01-09 at 12.37.13 PM

Have you stitched a project by this designer before?

No – this is my very first sampler.

Would you buy/stitch a design by this designer again? Why/Why not?

Yes, I would. In my needlepoint designs I’m inspired by rugs and tapestries from around the world. I adapt those designs into smaller pieces that can be framed or hung like tapestries. Theresa adapts antique samplers into more modern forms. I was drawn to her for that reason. Look at her blog and you will see many types of cross stitch – all quite delicate and beautiful. I’m sure you’ll find something you like as well.

What made you choose this particular design/designer?

I wanted to stitch a sampler and have been reading the newsletters from The Attic in Mesa, AZ. There are so many to choose from and I couldn’t decide on just one. Then this sampler came out last October and it caught my attention. I just loved the borders and the flowers. And the colors really suited me as well.

Did you notice anything that distinguished this designer from others?

The verse! Many samplers have the alphabet or Bible verses, like samplers from the 1700s and 1800s. But Theresa writes her own verses for the pieces she adapts and designs.

Here is a photo of my progress on the piece so far:

NF Sampler - 5

 

I’m stitching it on 40 ct linen using one strand of Needlepoint Inc Silk over two threads.

4 responses to “January D.E.S.I.G.N. – Heart’s Ease Examplar Works

  1. oh my goodness, I love this sampler! I hadn’t seen this before (I must have skipped Jean’s October Newsletter, in a pitiful attempt to keep me from stashing). thank you! and your progress looks fabulous, I love the outer border and the flowers you’re working on.

  2. This sampler looks lovely, I will have to check out Theresa’s blog for her other designs 🙂 Lovely progress so far as well!

  3. Hi, I came over from the DESIGN SAL to see your chosen designer this month. I really like samplers and this is a beautiful one. I like the fact that the designer used her own poetry for the rhyme. I also love 40 count linen!

Leave a Reply

