WIPocalypse 2015 – February

January went by very quickly, but I did manage to get some things done. I finished one project – Hometown Holiday’s Village Church. I have the Fire Station to do, maybe later this month.

Church-2

I worked on two projects. Father Christmas and Cats went from:

FatherC - Prog 4

to this:

Father C-Prog 5

I finally reached the right side which has alternating triangles in burgundy and brown, both stitched with Gentle Arts Sampler Threads. I’ll try to get a better photo of the colors along the right side next month. This one is rather dark. For February I’m moving to the left side of the design, working on the miles of background and finishing the left side of the face and the black tassel on the left side of the hat.

I worked on Norfolk Diligence Sampler, which went from this:

NF Sampler - 5

To this:

NF Sampler - 6

The verse is stitched over one thread on 40 ct. Slow going, but I’ll get all three lines done. And I’ll work on the borders down the two sides this month as well.

And I started a new project – the first of two Chapter Tiles from Modern Folk. I’m using DMC floss #3809 and #3810 over two on 32 ct. Golden Sand linen. It will be 15″ square when done.

Chapter 1-1

The question for February is – How do you overcome that feeling of being in a rut on a particular project? This doesn’t happen to me very often since I have so many projects going at once. If I get bored or frustrated with a project, I move on to another one and then go back to it a week or two later. The exception to this is the Gossamer Fractal that I want to get done this year. I put it away about 4 months ago and hope to pick it back up in March and make some good progress. I’ve started over on a couple project but it’s very rare that I give up on any of them.

6 responses to “WIPocalypse 2015 – February

  1. I rarely, if ever, totally give up on a project. It just turns from a WIP to a UFO. Every once in awhile I’ll come across it & think I really must work on it sometime, and put it back in the pile till next time! I think my oldest UFO is about 25 yrs old and, yes, I still think ill work on it. Some day.

  2. I don’t ever intentionally not finish something I’ve started. If I get tired of a project, it lays dormant for a while. I have plenty of WIPs to pick up instead. I find thE stitching isn’t too much of a problem, it’s the finishing. I have a pile of needlepoint and cross-stitch ready for finishing.

    I like your Modern Folk project. I’ve admired a few of his patterns but I won’t buy them until I get more serious about stitching them. Rooster Alphabet and Two Birds in One Tree are among my favorites.

  3. Lovely projects, and you made lots of progress too! I hope ypu can keep it up throughout the year 🙂 I agree, when you get in a rut it’s best to put that particular design aside for a while…unless you have a deadline to meet, of course, than it’s pulling through no matter what, haha 😀

  4. You have some amazing projects going on! I have set some of mine aside for pretty lengthy periods and a couple of years ago, I actually purged some projects that I hadn’t worked on in a zillion years.

Leave a Reply

