February D.E.S.I.G.N. – Modern Folk

What project are you talking about this month?

I’m stitching Chapter Tiles from Modern Folk. Jacob, the designer, put two tiles together in one set of directions. Though Jacob usually stitches his designs in red thread on white linen, I decided to stitch mine using DMC floss #3809 and #3810 on Golden Sand linen. Most of the design is being stitched with the darker color and only the leaves in the design will be stitched in the lighter color. I’m currently working on the one pictured on the left.

ChapterHouse

 

Jacob lives in England and his website is: modernfolkembroidery.com

You can also find him on etsy: etsy.com       Search for Modern Folk Embroidery

He has many designs to choose from and also sells linen and thread for his designs (including his own hand-dyed wool thread).

Have you stitched a design by this designer before?

No, I haven’t. I heard about him from a friend who was working on one of his designs.

Would you stitch another design by this designer?

Yes, I would. He has several I would like to do, including one in the February issue of Cross Stitch Collection Magazine.

What made you decide to buy this design? Any special things about it?

Like last month, I love things that have been adapted from other forms of art. This time, the design was taken from tiles in the Minster Chapter House. I look forward to seeing what new designs he will create from his trip to Scotland recently.

Here is my progress so far:

Chapter 1-2

The pattern is just a quarter of the design and you rotate the pattern and repeat it until you have completed the whole design. I’ll need to order another piece of linen for the second tile, but I think they’ll make beautiful pillows, about 15″ square – eventually. (The fabric looks beige on my screen, but is actually a gold color.)

 

8 responses to “February D.E.S.I.G.N. – Modern Folk

  1. We (great minds?) think alike. For some reason I have never been a big fan of reds. My DH KNOWS to never get me RED roses. So I’m really liking your color choices here. I like the designs too. Given a choice between a pictorial piece or a design piece, I’ll pick the design 99% of the time. I’ll definitely have to check out this designer. Thanks for the post!

  2. I recently discovered this designer too so it’s nice to see him getting more publicity.
    I like the colour choices you have made too. I personally like red on white but there are so many combinations of colours it’s good to change them. These would look good in so many variegated threads too.

Leave a Reply

