Persian Nain Rug – Progress 3

I know it hasn’t been a month, but I’ve been working two days a week on this now instead of one. This always happens with a new rug – I get carried away with the new project and ignore several others.

I told you last time that the corners were a very busy area and it would take time to complete. Here is the original rug corner. You can see that I’ve had to eliminate the outer border in order to cut down on the size of the rug. Adapting a full size rug to a needlepoint rug of 14″ x 20″ involves cutting out large parts of the design, but still leaving enough to give the same fell to the adaptation.

 

Nain-6I have completed the first corner, so here is my adaptation for comparison.

Nain Corner

The main shapes in the corner are approximately the same as the original, but the little details within each area are my own creations. There are lots of details that make for slow going. The center section will be a nice relief, since I will have fewer motifs in the center than the original – lots of nice open areas for Basketweave in the cream color. Here is the rug so far:

 

Nain-3

8 responses to “Persian Nain Rug – Progress 3

  1. Neat! It’s fun to see the original next to your creation. I never thought about it before, but does that mean you own the original rug? Inquiring minds … Yada yada yada!

  2. It looks very nice so far. It’s too bad about the outer border, can’t help but imagining that part stitched in a weave. Can’t wait to see the rest of it.

Leave a Reply

