WIPocalypse 2015 – April

I didn’t have as much time for stitching in March, so I don’t have as much to show you. No progress on Norfolk Diligence Sampler, but my goal for April is to finish the rest of the verse. Father Christmas only got about an hour or so of stitch time, mainly on background and a little on the tassel. I hope to have the tassel done this month and to finish the face (plus a lot more background).

The Chapter Tile from Modern Folk Embroidery is coming along. You can see the straight edge on the right where the page ends. I still have about 3 inches to go to reach the bottom of the page. My goal for April is to finish this first time through the page. Then I can turn the pattern and repeat the page to complete the top half of the design. Well, I hope to start the second time through and I know I won’t get all of that done a second time.

Chapter 1-4

The Persian Iris Mandala by Chatelaine is slowly progressing as well. I’ve turned the piece so I have a whole new side to work on. The windows and portals are stitched on the new corner section now. As I work on the buildings above them, I’ll also do the back stitching and top stitching in gold. My goal for April is to get the buildings stitched on this section and get the gold top stitching done as well, so this corner is completed.

Bldg 4-1

My own Hearts & Flowers design is almost done. Below are the four hearts with the large rose buds all done. In the next few days I’ll finish all the little details and do another post so you can see the finale.

Hearts-3

Our question for the month is – What stitches do you enjoy working on and which ones do you dread. Since many of the special stitches used in cross stitch are also used in needlepoint, I enjoy working stitches like Algerian Eyes and Rhodes stitches. My back stitching is getting much better but I dread back stitching and top stitching with metallic threads (like the mandala). I also dread the Queens stitch.

7 responses to “WIPocalypse 2015 – April

  1. I like most needlepoint stitches, but dread having to place stitches in a “random” fashion. Your work is beautiful.

    Brenda’s Needlepoint Studio Blog

  2. You have a nice assortment of projects, Jan. I like most stitches, as I like the challenge of doing stitches with which I’m not familiar. Sometimes I like plain ol’ basketweave stitches, as they are relaxing don’t-have-to-think stitches.

Leave a Reply

