Persian Nain Rug – Progress 5

Just over two weeks since the last post and I have made some progress, slowly. I’ve also put the canvas on longer stretcher bars so I can turn the canvas and work along one side at a time.

Nain-5

The first two (of 10) pineapples are done and the first of the smaller motifs between them is completed as well. You can see the outline of two more of the smaller motifs and the start of another pineapple now as well. I’ll work along this lower side now, doing the border as well as the other motifs. And, of course, I’ll continue to work the background as I go. There is a lot of it until I get to the center of the rug.

The centers of the crosses in the pineapple don’t show up well in the photo or when  you see it in person. I really don’t want to tear out the centers and try another color, so I think I’ll leave them as they are. There isn’t much difference between the blue and burgundy in the middle right now and the next shade anyway.

Doing all basketweave is slower than other stitches, especially when you have to go around all those tiny motifs. But I find this type of rug relaxing, taking my time and in no hurry to get it done. It will be back here in another 2-3 weeks – about 5 hours of stitching each week.

4 responses to “Persian Nain Rug – Progress 5

  1. It is beautiful! And it does look relaxing. I really like the color palette. I was kind of neutral about it in the beginning but either it grows on you or the cream background kind of settled it all in a peaceful place. Great progress! My GREAT news is that my sister’s birthday present is done and on its way! Hooray!! My current piece is a wedding piece for a May wedding and it’s well on its way! Happy stitching.

  2. I like the pineapples, Jan. I find basketweave relaxing too. I bought a couple of de-stashed needlepoint sampler kits, basketweave on printed canvas. They will be put on stretchers and stitched when I need something soothing to do.

Leave a Reply

