April D.E.S.I.G.N. – Elli Jenks

What project are you going to talk about this month?  I’ve just started stitching the BrightSea Express by Elli Jenks. This is a 3D train with 4 pieces that will be about 2.5″ tall. I’ve wanted to stitch this for over a year, and finally decided to just get with it. This is how far I’ve gotten in the past few days. This is the back of the last car of the train. The piece continues by going up and across the top and then down the front of the car. Beside this on the fabric, I’ll stitch the two sides of the car to get the first part of the train completed.

Express-1

This is what the project will look like when it is finished.

Elli's Train

Have you stitched a design by this designer before? Yes, I’ve completed the building called the Pet Shop – part of her BrightSea Village 3D series.

Final-front

Would you design by this designer again? Why/Why not?  Elli has a lot of parts for the BrightSea Village that would be wonderful to stitch, so I probably would do more. Elli also designs small rugs that are beautiful (I have one in my stash) and recently did a 3D Blackwork Frog.

What made you choose this particular design/designer? I really love the 3D designs that are available now. Since I have two cats, the Pet Shop was the first one I decided to stitch. I loved every minute of it. All the details make you smile as you stitch.

Did you notice anything that distinguished this designer from others? Enlarge the photo of the Pet Shop and look at all the tiny details she has included in the design. There’s even a missing slat in the fence on one side, with a dog peeking out! It’s so much fun to see all the little details appear as you stitch her designs.

Elli lives in New Zealand and sells her designs on her website ellijenks.com and in her Etsy shop ElliXS.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://ellijenks.com/product/extra-4-brightsea-express/

6 responses to “April D.E.S.I.G.N. – Elli Jenks

  1. Thanks for reminding me about this designer, Jan. I’ve been meaning to buy a few of her designs. Yes, the details are precious.

  2. Just what I needed! More inspiration!! Just kidding! When I read through this post the 3D Blackwork Frog jumped(ha ha!) out at me. I had to see it and so I visited Elli Jenks website and now that I’ve seen it, I HAVE to HAVE it! I love the blue color way. It reminds me of the Blue Willow pattern that I’ve always loved. “🎶 Insurance company, bring me some money! 🎶🎶🎶” Hoppy stitching!

  3. Noooooooo, why did you do this to me? I just love 3D designs although I have only completed one, Drac-in-a-Box I do have a little cottage in my WIPS for this year.
    Off to check out that website now and resist temptation!

Leave a Reply

