Stofft’s Santa on a Brown Bear – Progress 3

I put this away last February when I couldn’t get the edges of the blanket to work out the way I envisioned it. It’s on my list of WIPs that I want to finish this year, so I got it out about a week ago and started working on it again. This is where I left it last year. The bear is stitched, the blanket is done except for the edge.

Santa-2

Now I have the light purple bridle and the candy canes done. The edge of the rug was stitched sith Brick Stitch in gold and dark purple Kreinik ribbon. The beads have been added along the bottom of the blanket (sewn down so they don’t move around). The basket for the rabbit is stitched with Splendor and a touch of Kreinik gold braid. The bag for the candy canes was stitched in Basketweave with Splendor and Kreinik gold braid. That’s good progress for one week. Here is a close-up of blanket and baskets.

Santa 3 Close-up

And here is the whole piece so far.

Santa-3

I don’t want to do the rabbit yet, since he will be done with Wisper (and Santa’s fur trim too). So I’ll work on Santa and the little tree next. A little at a time, he will get done in the next month or so.

6 responses to “Stofft’s Santa on a Brown Bear – Progress 3

  1. This is one of my favorites. There is was a similar design in one of my now Hurricane K lost magazines with a little girl (Ivy?) riding a bear. What is this bear stitched in. He looks very soft and pet-able!! I love your posts!! Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

