Stofft’s Santa on a Brown Bear finale

I ran out of thread Sunday while working on the background. But I worked on it all afternoon after getting more thread and it’s finally finished.

Santa finale

The fur trim on Santa’s suit was stitched with two plies of dark brown Wisper and one ply of floss.  Then I stitched the tree with Gloriana Florimell and I added gold beads for ornaments.

On to the rabbit – The two shades of gray are Wisper and the white is Angora. I used simple straight stitches for the white since the Angora is a very thick thread.

I love the tassels!! I had an Anchor variegated thread that exactly matched the painted tassels. I did straight stitches over the area first in case the tassels didn’t cover completely. They turned out perfectly!

Last is the background. This background is from Ann Strite-Kurz’s book Backgrounds: The Finishing Touch. I used white Petite Sparkle Rays for the vertical lines, tied down with #8 perle in DMC B5200 and then the perle again to create the diamonds between the lines. Lastly, clear beads were sewn in the center where each diamond crosses. The finishing touch was gathering white Flair with a single strand of white floss and tacking it down here and there to give the impression of snow.

It’s been a long time coming, but he’s finally finished. Can’t wait to get him framed and ready for the holiday season!

5 responses to “Stofft’s Santa on a Brown Bear finale

  1. I need a new word! A combination of WOW and TA DA!!! How about TWA O DWA!!! This is absolutely fantastic! The tassels are my favorite part too! Well done, Jan, very well done! 😄😄😄

Leave a Reply

