Introducing the Madagascar Rug

I’ve just started on a new, small rug. It’s being stitched on Congress Cloth with #8 Perle Cotton. The original is shown below:

Madagasar Original

This is a full-sized rug, but mine will only be 6.5″ X 8.5″ when it is done. Rather than try to keep up with a million color changes, I’m using solid colors and two overdyed colors. The two shown below are from Lorraine of Colour Complements (www.colourcomplements.com from Canada). She hand-dyes all her threads in various sizes and types of threads. You can find her on Etsy – Colour Complements. In the photo below, I’ve undone one skein so you can see that Lorraine’s threads change colors over a much shorter length than many overdyes.

Overdyes

I’ve only started, but wanted you to see how things are going. I’m going to use the same overdye all the way up the column and change the solid color as I work my up the column. My design is not very close to the original design, but I’m hoping it will have a similar feel. (I forgot to take the needle out before I took the photo. Sigh)

Madagascar Start

 

8 responses to “Introducing the Madagascar Rug

  1. Ooooo! I like this one!! Needle and all!! Your overdyed are really beautiful! I’ll keep those in mind for future endeavors. Looking at the inspiration piece, I’m guessing it’s woven. Weaving as a fiber art absolutely amazed me!! Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

