Occupied Finale

I finally have a finished piece to show you – seems like forever!

This will be a Christmas present for one of my sons. It goes with the theme of the guest bathroom (really!). I hope he loves it. I’ll be finishing it as a wall hanging so he can hang it on the door. It won’t rattle that way when the door is opened or closed.

Occupied finale

The hair was done with Vineyard Silk in straight stitches and then sprinkled with lighter colors for highlights. The feathers were stitched with two shades of teal Flair and the veins were stitched with teal Fyre Werks. The hat was painted with pale blue and lavender highlights but I changed them to grays, which I think look better. The background is a Woven stitch in white Stardust from Brown Paper Packages which has a metallic thread running through it. I’m pleased with the results, sort of. Not thrilled with the feathers on the left (not painted well so I had trouble with it) and the bead centers for the flowers.

So the decision of what to needlepoint next – the Madagascar rug needs to be finished, I have a swan canvas for our guest room to stitch, or maybe a charted design called Deconstructed Log Cabin by Jeff Kulick. Stay tuned.

 

6 responses to “Occupied Finale

  1. The feathers to the left look really fluffy, Jan. You did a good job interpreting them. And I like the change to the grays for the lady’s hat. It matches the gentleman’s top hat better than the blue and lavender would have. It will be an amusing addition to the bathroom!

  2. I repeat myself, “TA DA!!!!” I love the background and I am very partial to frets when stitching next to bright colors. I think it just makes them pop even more!!! Next, I’m voting for the Deconstructed Log Cabin. That us an awesome design and I look forward to seeing what color magic you work!! Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

