WIPocalypse 2015 – August

As I said in the last WIPocalypse post, I’ve put away a lot of the larger pieces to go back to later. I haven’t gotten a lot done this month since I decided that as long as I was putting away things, I should go through everything and get rid of materials that I know I won’t need anymore. I now have 3 boxes of craft materials to give away. My closet looks a lot better now, even though I haven’t finished going through of it.

So the projects for this month, and until they are done, are:

  1. Persian Iris Mandala. I didn’t get very far on the new set of buildings. I did the dark blue dividing line between the portals and the buildings and discovered that it was one thread lower than needed – so out it came. It’s been restitched and the portals have been started.

3rd corner start

This month we’re supposed to talk about the journey we’ve taken for one of the posted pieces. This mandala was my very first cross stitch purchase in 2011! I worked on the center section and was really enjoying it, beads and all. Then I was having arthritis problems and had to slow down drastically, so it got put away. I had hip replacement surgery in 2012 and slowly got back to my larger projects once again. It’s slow going for me with all the gold top stitching, but I work on it two mornings a week and hope to get it done next year.

2. The Train Stocking for DH. I haven’t added many cross stitches since I posted this earlier this month, but I have started the backstitching. Santa is now visible. I hope to finish the bottom of the stocking in September so I can move to the upper half.

Train St 5

3. Polar Express – You can easily see the curve of the heart on the left side now. The second car is stitched, but needs its cargo of fir trees. I also need to finish the clouds and other trees in the background in the center section of this half. Then I’ll start on the right side with the engine. I doubt that it will be completely finished in Sept, but I can always hope.

Polar-3

4. I’ve started the first of 3 Playful Snowmen ornaments. I want to get at least two of them done by the next report. There are two snowmen on this first ornament – the first one now has a hat and a scarf. These have lots of changes in color so it’s slow work.

Snowman 1-1

I’m hoping to get started on the Hometown Holidays pieces in Sept as well. I now have 3 waiting to be stitched. So maybe one will get done in Sept.

8 responses to “WIPocalypse 2015 – August

  1. Great report, Jan. I like seeing your progress, even if you think it’s just a little. It inspires me to push through. I am on track with my Xmas ornaments. Maybe another two weeks of stitching, then I’ll do the finishing on all of them. It will be nice not to have a Xmas Eve rush-a-thon!

  2. Working train pieces suits you! Despite all the ups and downs (like a traveling train) you keep on keeping on and you always come through! Everything is looking great! I’m surprised that the snowmen are slow going. Deceivingly simple designs!!! Every time I see the Mandala photos, mine calls out to me! (Stitch me! Stitch me! Hurry up and BUY those threads!!) Happy stitching Jan!

  3. You certainly chose a challenging piece to start your cross-stitch journey. Sometimes that’s the best way to start though. Your progress looks awesome.

    It’s always good to have a clear out. It’s coming up time for me to have one too although, even though I have far more than I’ll ever do, I’m not sure I want to part with anything.

Leave a Reply

