Cross One Off the Bucket List

In March, the question for WIPocalypse 2015 was our Bucket List – What would be on the list if time and money wasn’t a factor. My List included 1 surface embroidery, 2 cross stitch, and 2 needlepoint projects. I have plenty in my stash to keep my going for years and knew I couldn’t afford to buy either of the  needlepoint canvases so I didn’t think I would ever get any of the 5 projects.

Update: I got mine from the Stitching Destashing Canvases Be Gone site. She was having a sale. All 3 Melissa Shirley birds that she had sold during the sale. I suggest finding out where Melissa Shirley is having trunk shows and see if you can get it cheaper that way. I just checked Canvases Be Gone site and she has the Quail available.

But last week I ran into a super sale and picked up one of the needlepoint canvases for less than half price. Too good to pass up! So here is Melissa Shirley’s Purple Heron, which arrived at my home yesterday.

MS Purple Heron

I spent a lot of time this morning going through my thread stash. I have the color for the background of the border, but will need to get more to stitch it all. I have all the other colors I need for the border in Splendor, so they have pulled them. Then I searched through all my silk overdyes to see what I can use for the main part of the canvas. I pulled several gray, purple and green ones that should work for the large heron and the grass/ground.

No, I can’t start this yet. I have other things to finish, but I can order stretcher bars for it and get it mounted up and ready to go. If I prop it up in the needlepoint room, I can start to think of stitches and be ready to go in January. WOW! Never dreamed that I would get to stitch this one – my first Melissa Shirley.

Hope your stitching brought you some joy today as well.

5 responses to “Cross One Off the Bucket List

  1. Hi Jan! I’ve been searching like crazy for this canvas! I’m getting prices of $488. Can you share where you got yours?

  2. Like Roberta and Miriam, I’ve seen this canvas and admired it, but unlike them, haven’t contemplated buying it. I have an extensive collection of canvases and cross stitch that will keep me busy for years, too. I will enjoy Purple Heron vicariously as you stitch it next year, Jan. What count is the canvas, and how big is it? Are you thinking of doing some open stitches? Once you have it tacked to stretcher bars, it will be a beautiful art piece, and then even better after you stitch it up.

  3. What a lovely canvas – I have no idea where I would start stitching something like this, but I’m sure you will have some lovely ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

