WIPocalypse 2015 – November

I’ve put away the Playful Snowmen ornaments until next year. This will be the only cross stitch I’ll work on downstairs until it is done.

The engine is now complete, but I need to finish the backstitching.

Train st 8

I’m hoping to have the backstitching done by the end of the weekend, as well as the smoke coming out of the  smokestack and the snow in the background where the cars meet. Then next week I can move on to the top part of the stocking. This stocking is for my DH and he’s enjoying seeing it come to life as much as I am.

Upstairs, I decided to pull out the mandala once again. Here is what it looked like on September 27th.

3rd corner-2

I’ve worked on it 4 mornings over the last two weeks, and I’ve gotten this far:

3rd corner-3

All the gold top stitching has been done on the portals and the first two buildings on this side. I’ll be turning the corner next weekend, I hope.

I haven’t been able to do a lot of stitching the last few months because of my hands. I think having two large projects upstairs to alternate in the mornings and two downstairs to alternate for the afternoons and evenings is the best for me. I will get things done but in a more relaxed time frame.

7 responses to “WIPocalypse 2015 – November

  1. Wow! The train stocking is looking fantastic! I know it will be a show piece in your Christmas decorating for years to come! Starting with 2015! You’re making great progress on this and still stitching the PIG ( gorgeous, I’m so envious, but it just isn’t in our budget right now “sniff” 😦 ). I think you’re project rotation sounds well planned and not too strenuous. I’ve been puzzling over why the needlepoint should be harder on hands than cross stitch. Heavier fibers? More tension? Hmmm. But the Decon Log Cabin is amazing too! Please, give yourself an “I’m proud of you!” Hug and a holiday treat! Happy Thanksgiving! I am grateful that I have you as my friend and stitching pal!! 🙂

  2. I know it can feel a bit harsh to put away stuff to really focus on one thing, but the relief that comes with it and actually making progress is so much better, at least for me – I’m sure you can get this stocking done now, your progress looks really awesome already 🙂

Leave a Reply

