Gentle Elephant Stocking

This is going to be challenging, but I promised my new DIL that I would make an elephant stocking for her and this is the pattern she fell in love with. (She loves elephants even more than I do!) This is Gentle Elephant from Just Stitching.

Gentle Elephant

See what I mean? What I’m going to do is stitch the elephants only. I’m stitching it on beige Aida, 18 ct. When it’s finished, I’ll add a little grass, etc. along the bottom to make it a little more interesting. Here’s where I got in the last couple of days.

GElephant-1

I started with the tusk on the left and then started working on the trunk (barely) and the darker stitches as the start on the left ear. I changed a couple of colors though. I refuse to put purple and nave blue on this elephant. I substituted another dark and very dark brown instead. The elephant is all browns, grays, and black. It should stand out nicely on the beige Aida (which doesn’t look very beige in the photo).

I’ve got a long way to go. Wish me luck!

9 responses to “Gentle Elephant Stocking

  1. I love elephants too! I bought a donated kit at an elephant educational event at the Oakland Zoo. The person hadn’t stitched it yet. I will start it one of these days. The piece you are stitching is adorable!

  2. Luck? You don’t need luck! You are a super stitcher!! You have everything you need and an elephant sized heart!! Looking forward to watching this one grow up!! Happy stitching!!

Leave a Reply

