Tree of Life Designing

This week I haven’t done as much stitching as usual. My mind has been a-buzz with design ideas. One of them sent me searching the Internet and my rug books. How many cultures have rugs with a Tree of Life? I’ve seen many cross stitch projects and quilts with them, but they are all over the world.

Afghan rug

Afghan Tree 2

Persian rug

Persian Tree of Life

Bakhtiari rug (I’d love to adapt this one!)

Bakhtiari Tree of Life

India rug

India Tree of Life

I’d love to do a whole series of Tree of Life rugs and maybe create one of my own too. But I’ll start with the one below from Bijar – an area in northwest Iran. This area has a large Kurdish population, many of whom are rug makers.

Kurd design – There are flowering bushes, willows and cypress tree. I know I want to stay with the same colors – nice and simple – and make it as a pillow. I’m playing with stitches right now and will start on the design soon. Lots of decisions to make before I get to start stitching ( create a border?).

Kurd Tree of Life

Look for another post soon about another rug (from Anatolia) that I’ve already started designing and will be practice stitching with new threads that will arrive in a few days. I don’t know which one I’ll actually be stitching first. Now that I’ve gotten these two projects mapped out and started on the computer, hopefully my designing mind will take a rest and let me get back to stitching my current projects that need to be done.

Photos are from the Internet and the book Tribal & Village Rugs by Peter F. Stone

4 responses to “Tree of Life Designing

  1. Thank you for sharing these snippits of your creative process, and how your mind takes an idea, researches, and runs many concepts before you get to the designing stage! It’s amazing!

  2. I know that tree was a symbol and several cultures, but I never bothered with actually HOW fat spread it was. Great research, and an exciting new start!

Leave a Reply

