WIPocalypse 2016 – May

If you’ve been reading my blog, you know that the Fractal is gone. I really disliked working on it and it looks like it will be abandoned. Right now it is back in the stash. But progress on several other projects is going well.

Gentle Elephant – still working on page 3, trying to finish the ear on the right. I know the trunk isn’t finished at the bottom and the top of the ear is rough, but the same colors are used for the elephant and the background in many areas. I’ll try to even things out after I finish the rest of the ear and body. I went from here:

GElephant-3

to here:

Elephant-4

On the Persian Iris Mandala, I’m really moving. I really want to finish the last corner so I can get the the triangles that will finish the project. So I went from here:

PI mosque 4-2

to here this month! One whole side of buildings done. Only 1 more set to go until the main part of the mandala is done. Then the 4 triangles at the corners and the rest of the beads. I can’t wait!!!

4th corner-1

Then, because I’m not doing the fractal anymore, I have two other cross stitch pieces to work on for the weekends. The first is the Florist from Hometown Holidays and this is how far I got before I ran out of the brown thread (more arrived a couple days ago). When this one is done, I still have two more to do. The schoolhouse arrived yesterday.

Florist-2

And lastly, I picked up Patchwork Sampler Serenity. I only stitched a tiny bit of it last year. Here is the first motif completed. I started the second motif in the darkest teal – hardly visible in the photo.

Serenity-2

This is a large Quaker piece in teal and purple. My hope is to get the first 3 pages done this year.

4 responses to “WIPocalypse 2016 – May

  1. You’ve made great progress, Jan, with all your rotation projects. I’m glad you have resolved the problem with the fractal. It looked challenging, but I know projects also have to bring a certain amount of joy and fun, otherwise they become albatrosses.

  2. You have a lot going on, and I love everything 🙂 The elephant really looks nice, and so oes progress on the mandala.

  3. New to your site. Was looking for needlepoint designs for elephants, realistic for a Christmas stocking. Is your elephant design one that you created or is it from a pattern that I could purchase? We have very Victorian style stockings which depict things that are sentimental to each person. I need to find or create one for my future son-in-law. My favorite picture of his travels is of him walking with an elephant. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

