Fall Quilt – Progress 2

I’ve finished all of the Delectable Mountains border now. So it was time to start working on the center section of the quilt block. I played with acorns for the corners. The first one was not quite in the correct spot, so I moved to the second corner and got it right. (I’ll go back and rip out the first set in the next day or two. The acorns were stitched with 3 plies of floss for the cap and all 6 plies for the bottom of the acorn.

Fall Quilt -2

With a corner done, I could start filling in the background a little, using Ecru DMC #5 perle cotton. I don’t want to do a lot of background until I do some of the middle. I don’t want to rip any of it out.

The center is going to have leaves stitched with ThreadWorx overdyed floss. I found the center the did one stem and started the first leaf last night.

Center-1

I only did the first set of the leaf, using Mosaic stitch. On the top is 4 plies of the floss used as it comes off the skein. On the right side, I reversed two of the plies to blend the colors together more. I’m not sure which one I like more. I’m leaning toward using the floss as it comes. I think it will look a little better than way. What do you think? I’ll work on restitching the first corner acorns this evening while I try to decide (and wait for your comments as well).

 

 

7 responses to “Fall Quilt – Progress 2

  1. Well, Jan, our opinion won’t help…Marissa and I like both ways you stitched the leaves! However, I’m leaning towards the blended look. Love those autumn colors, so rich.

  2. I admit that I biased towards using overdyed threads exactly as they come. Having said that, I like the top one better, because it shows a broader range of colors, and fall leaves always have many different colors in them as they turn.

  3. That progress looks lovely! Both leaf variants are gorgeous, but I’d probably use the skein just as it comes.

Leave a Reply

