Fall Quilt – a Redesign

Not happy with the finish of the Fall Quilt, I went back to the software to create larger leaves to see if the design would look better. Building the original version around a 6 stitch square was too small, so I tried a 12 stitch square and that was too big. So here is the quilt with a 10 stitch square as the basis of the leaf.

fall quilt

I had to increase the size of the green center and the apples as well. I think this will be much better. I’ll stitch one larger leaf and take photos of the steps. Then we’ll see if I can “create” a new photo with the larger leaves. This could prove interesting.

There isn’t any way to show overdyed threads, so I alternate 3-4 colors just to give the idea of the finished piece. What do you think?

5 responses to “Fall Quilt – a Redesign

  1. The initial design’s border seemed to be the focus, since the center motif was smaller. This rework brings the focus to the center. Since I liked the autumn colors so much, I like both designs, but edge towards this one.

  2. I think the larger leaves/motifs work much better. Your stitch and color choices are already excellent!! You just keep getting betterer and betterer!!! Happy stitching!!

Leave a Reply

