Anatolia Rug – Progress 2

It’s only been about 10 days since I showed the first progress, but I wanted you to see the start of the medallion and that beautiful variegated red thread from Pepper Pot Silk.

Anatolia 2

It’s easy for me to spend up to two hours on this the two mornings I have available for it. It’s so much fun and is moving along nicely. I just had to see how the border for the medallion would look, so that is what I worked on yesterday. And the Milanese stitch for the variegated background really stitches up fast. Everything inside the border was done in just an hour and a half!

I’m going to turn the canvas now and work along the right side – adding more motifs on the border, outlining the medallion, and filling in the background as I go. This will be back around the first of August. I hope to have a lot done by then. It’s only 11.5″ across the narrow end and 19″ along the sides. I’m going to try to get to the middle of the right side by the end of the month. We’ll see how things go.

3 responses to “Anatolia Rug – Progress 2

  1. You are so disciplined, Jan. I would spend more time on this rug…it’s so pretty and looks like fun to stitch.

  2. Great progress…the red in the background is absolutely stunning, especially together with the stitch you used. And you are seriously going fast! I’m looking forward to your next update on this one.

Leave a Reply

