Persian Iris Mandala – Finale!!!

The new crystals arrived late yesterday (the mail wasn’t delivered until almost 7 pm) and I just sewed them on. Finally this huge project is finished. And I still love it!!

I started it in 2011. Because of my hip problem I couldn’t handle stairs very well and put it away in 2012. I picked it back up in the spring of 2014 and have worked on it a little every month since then.

19″ square – it needs to be taken off the stretcher bars and straightened out a little before I can get it framed. This was the first cross stitch project I started – if you can believe that! There are mistakes and I still can’t do the gold top stitching as well as it should be, but I stuck with it and have completed this beautiful piece!

The center – with the replacement crystals in the dark blue square around the center and light green crystals in the green circles around the purple irises.

PIG finale 2

The corner – Delica beads in the scroll/flowers around the top edge and turquoise crystals beneath each scroll and one crystal at the bottom of the corner “knot.”

PIG finale 1

And finally, the whole piece!

PIG Finale

I’m not insane enough to start another mandala just yet though. I have Serengeti all kitted up and ready to go, but I’ll wait a while on that one. I also want to buy Moroccan Lace when it is released. So I don’t know which one will be started next year. We’ll see….

11 responses to “Persian Iris Mandala – Finale!!!

  1. Whoop! Whoop! This is SO amazing!! I am personally so proud of you!! It is GLORIOUS!!! If I ever get to do this one I hope I will persevere till it is complete, otherwise I will always be glad for your sharing this with me, with us!! Take another bow stitching Diva!!

  2. I’m so happy for you, Jan. I whooped when I saw the post title come up on Feedly! It is so gorgeous and I’m tempted to stitch a Chatelaine mandala but I have too many other projects to do.

  3. Congrats! It’s gorgeous. I’m really tempted to get one, but not one of the mandalas. I’ve always wanted to stitch the Japanese Octagonal box.

  4. What an amazing accomplishment – you must be so (well deservedly) proud!! And this piece is so gorgeous and vibrant. Brava! Congrats! And all the other congratulatory words 🙂

  5. Looks great, wish I could see it person, photos never really get the feel of a piece.
    Congrats, maybe it will inspire me to get mine back out!

  6. Woohoo, congrats on the finish! I can’t believe this was the first cross stitch you started, it looks super awesome and obiously it did it’s job in sucking you into the marvelous world of cross stitch haha 😀

Leave a Reply

