Father Christmas – Progress 8

Here is where I left this project on May 2, 2015.

Father C-7

My goal for this project was to have the first 5 pages done this year – that won’t happen. The bottom of the page is 14 rows below the tassel. For the rest of this year, I’ll work on Pages 1-2 and get them  completed. If time permits, I’ll work on Page 3 which would complete Father Christmas’ face.

Father C 8

Most of Page 1 is background, so I’ve been adding many rows of overdyed orange thread. One more row on the left will be 40 rows (half a page) completed.

You can see some light colors just to the left of the tassel. That’s part of his hair. It’s supposed to be stitched with Ecru, an ultra very light tan, and two shades of light sand. I haven’t done the darkest color of sand yet and I don’t think I’ll use it at all. I don’t think it will show up well at all, so I’ll use one of the lighter colors instead so it will be more visible.

The tiny section of red to the right of tassel is the beginning of his coat. There will be a lot more of that just below the tassel, when I get to it. I’m looking forward to something other than orange.

Stitching for this project will be mostly on the weekends. I did a lot of background this past week, but I have several smaller projects to work on during the week now.

3 responses to “Father Christmas – Progress 8

  1. Good progress on the background, Jan. I know stitching that much orange can’t be too thrilling. Finishing the face will be a nice milestone.

  2. Great progress! I love the colour of the background. And not many people would be brave enough to make modifications to something as large as a HAED, but I’m sure yours will be awesome!

Leave a Reply

