Delta Queen Paddleboat

I haven’t stitching much over the last week, but am now on track again.

I’ll try to keep this short – the story behind the paddleboat. DH and I met online 26 years ago. When his vacation time arrived, he drove from California to Tennessee with his two kids so we could meet in person and the kids could meet as well. My youngest was living with me at the time and decided that we should have an evening to ourselves. He stayed home with DH’s two kids and cooked them dinner (he’s a super chef!) He arranged for us to take a diner cruise on the Southern Belle paddleboat that went through the locks on the Tennessee River. A memorable evening.

Since then, now in California, we have been on a paddleboat in Lake Tahoe and one in Sacramento. The one is Sacramento was a smaller one and during the cruise we passed the Delta King paddleboat which is permanently moored there – and is a hotel and restaurant (photo below). The twin boat, Delta Queen, was originally in California as well. The Queen was towed through the Panama Canal and then used as an excursion boat on the Hudson River for several years. She also spent time in Chattanooga TN as a hotel for 5 years before being moved to Louisiana. It is listed as a National Treasure.

delta-king

I found this chart online and it’s an old one (drawn by hand on gold paper, 1984 by KD Artistry), but it’s fairly accurate on details so I wanted to stitch it for DH. I have quite a ways to go but here is the progress I’ve made this week.

Delta Queen 2

There is a second story to add plus the side going across the right. You can see the beginning of the paddle wheel on the left. I want to do all the cross stitches for the  white and gray parts of the boat first, then add the paddlewheel and water after that. And there is a ton of backstitching to do to add all the railings, etc. as well

5 responses to “Delta Queen Paddleboat

  1. Awesome!! The stitching, of course, but even more so the story behind the stitching. When I first read the title to this post I was thinking to myself, the Delta Queen? That’s New Orleans, which is where my DH was born and raised, where I lived for 30 some years and where both my daughters still live. One in New Orleans proper, one on the north shore. For Augie and I, Hurricane Katrina was enough for us, so we are now Arkansians. (People say that all the time, but I never actually tried to spell it before!) All that aside, Bravo!! You’ve got to love an older hand drawn chart too!! I’m just finishing up an old Puckerbush Charley Harper design, also hand drawn! How easily we are spoiled by technology!! Happy stitching!!

  2. I love cross stitch projects with history, and the story behind this is awesome and very cute too! I hope it’ll turn out as awesome as you imagine it 😀

Leave a Reply

