Father Christmas and Cats – Progress 12

I only work on this piece on weekends during (American) football season. With the Super Bowl taking place later today, it’s time to put it away until September. This is where it was when I started working on it in Sept 2016:

Father C 8

At the end of 2016, I had gotten to this point:

Father C 11

So for the last month or so I’ve been working on the right side of the design. This is where I’m stopping for now:

Father C 12

I was trying to fill in areas on his face, alternating that and filling in more background. Then I found that I couldn’t do any more of the background until I started stitching the steam rising from the goblet in his hand. The top half of pages 1-5 are completed. The bottom half of pages 1-2 are done and a little more is needed on page 3. Page 4 is background and steam and page 5 is the orange and brown stripes (now completed) and the maroon and brown triangles that run down the right side. And that is where I’ll start again in September.

In the meantime, I have quite a few cross stitch WIPs from 2015 that I didn’t work on last year because I had the mandala and 5 stockings to get finished. One of those projects will come downstairs tomorrow so I can get back to work on it. Stay tuned.

5 responses to “Father Christmas and Cats – Progress 12

  1. Hi I have a question about one of your trains that you did several years go. It was the locomotive by Anne Cram. I have tried to find it myself. Do you know if she still publishes it? I would love to do it for my son (he is in his forties). He has a model train similiar to the picture. I think the one you did would look great in his office if I could find one to do. You do such beautiful work!

    Roberta

  2. You’ve completed Father Christmas’ face! That’s a good place to stop. The steam amongst the orange background would slow me down, but you’ve gotten a lot done. How many pages is the design? And how do you remember to take this piece out again in September? Do you have a database or just jot things down on a calendar?

  3. It looks great Jan!! You have gotten a lot done. Unless one has ever attempted a HAED, you really can’t understand the phenomenal amount of work that goes into one!! Well done!! I’m looking forward to seeing what comes downstairs next!! Happy stitching!!

Leave a Reply

