Purple Heron by Melissa Shirley – Progress 6

Very little progress actually. I have the gray borders stitched along the right side. My first idea for stitching the flowers failed, so I’ll have to try a couple other ideas.

Today, I decided to turn the canvas again so I can stitch the gray borders along the top of the canvas. But I got side-tracked. I wanted to try out some open stitches to see what I could do for the sky. I tried out 3.

I tried to darken the colors so you might be able to see them better. On the left is Ripples from Sheena’s Sweet Stitches (blog and on Pinterest), On the right is Darning Pettern G from iStitches Vol. 2 from Ruth Schmuff. Very hard to see is the third one underneath, to the right of the grass. It’s Darning Pattern Lg Wave from iStitches Vol 3 from Ruth Schmuff. I’ve ruled out Pattern G already, since it would waste a lot of thread going all the way across the sky covering one thread in every 6-7 threads.

I like Ripples and Lg Wave (which waves left and right going down the canvas). The stitches for Lg Wave are done over 1 and 2 threads, so they are smaller and very hard to see in the photo. They could give the impression of rain – which would work. Ripples waves up and down across the sky and is done over 3 – 6 threads (varies a little from row to row).

At the top of the photo is the thread that I will be using – Sunglow Waterlilies. It has the white, yellow and lavender that matches the painted sky. I have one old skein and one new skein and will stitch the sky using one strand from each skein. I want to get all the sky done and then stitch the grass over it.

It’s not going to be very visible, more of a little texture to add to the piece. Which stitch would you use to stitch the sky?

5 responses to “Purple Heron by Melissa Shirley – Progress 6

  1. It’s a little difficult to see the threads for the stitches, Jan, but I think I like Ripple best. I do like the thread you’ve chosen for the sky.

  2. I think I like the wavy one on the left best, it would look great to have that as a texture over the whole sky 🙂

Leave a Reply

