Purple Heron by Melissa Shirley – Progress 6A

I’ve been working on the Ripples stitch on the sky yesterday and today. I’m stitching with the canvas turned upside down so it’s easier to reach, working right to left. I anchor the threads in the unstitched gray border using an L stitch. They’ll be covered up with the gray border when I get around to stitching it. And look how nicely it goes around the heron’s head! (Purely by accident too)

Next Friday and Saturday, I’ll continue by going down the right side (as you’re looking at it) and filling in all of that side. The next week I’ll work on the left side. I’m stitching right over the tall grasses. I’ll stitch on top of the Ripple stitch when I get to them (probably the last thing I’ll do on this canvas.) I’m using two plies of Waterlilies (one from the old skein and one from the new skein) to give a light touch to the sky – not something heavy. I want the colors painted on the canvas to show through. Here is all the sky that is done, not a lot but it’s going faster now that I know the pattern.

 

3 responses to “Purple Heron by Melissa Shirley – Progress 6A

  1. Great progress! I love how you explain everything as you go. I don’t know if I will ever tackle a canvas project myself, but it still feels very useful.

Leave a Reply

