Needlepoint Update – October 2017

I didn’t work on the Purple Heron this past month at all. I was focused on the ASOW Tall Ship.

I finished most of the sky around the top of the rigging. So I scrolled the canvas to see what was next. Oh dear – this is a VERY tall ship.

What I thought was the poop deck of the ship itself is evidently the crow’s next (two actually) and the next four inches is lots more masts, crossbeams, and rigging. You can see a tiny man standing on one of the crossbeams on the right side. This boat is huge!!

I also worked on the new Persian Qum Rug. I didn’t quite get all the way across the bottom of the rug. I still have some of the small motifs that need to be finished and lots of background. I want to get two of the blue motifs done on each side before I start on the center of the rug. I should have some of that for you next month.

I always have an ornament going – something to pick up easily when I’m not in the mood for the larger pieces. This one is a tiny gingerbread house that I should be able to finish this month and add it to the pile to finish off before Christmas.

And finally I picked up a new canvas that Michelle at Come to the Point was able to get for me. This is an Alice Peterson ABC piece for the granddaughter who will arrive the end of February. I hope to have it done to ship to them before the baby is born.


I still haven’t decided how to approach the canvas. It’s mounted on stretcher bars that are 16″ X 20″. The design is actually 12 X 16. I’m using #5 perle cotton for the entire design. Easy stitching for when I’m watching TV in the evenings.

I started with some of the dark yellow border, did the balloons on the left corner, then started the A. I spend a little time each evening filling in the white background. The As and apple are now finished. I did the Ds on Sunday evening but needed to decide on the colors of beige and brown for the duck, so I gave up for the night.

I’m not liking the lighter yellow balloon and the As – I’m thinking that I should outline the pale items with a darker yellow and see if that looks better. Once I start outlining letters, I’ll probably have to outline all of them – still thinking about it.

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

6 responses to “Needlepoint Update – October 2017

  1. I like your new approach, to give us the updates for many projects in one post. That tall ship is amazing! You’ll be a rigging expert by the completion of the project! I like how the Qum rug is coming along. The colors seem perfect for autumn stitching. Another cute 3-D ornament. Looking forward to seeing that completed and finished into the little gingerbread house. How big is it? The alphabet canvas is darling….I do agree about the pale yellow balloon being a little too pale. Will you add any metallics to this canvas?

  2. Jan, Want to talk about your tall ship stitching on the midweek version of Fiber Talk. Possible to send me a photo of the piece as it stands now so I can use it on the podcast page at wetalkfiber.com? If you’re willing to share, I need it today. We record and post early this evening.
    Thanks,
    Gary

  3. Wow, you made a ton of progress. It must have been a shock to see that much more rigging left to do, and it looks like it’s going to be really complicated too! I guess slow and steady will do it. Love your new rug as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

