Needlepoint Update – November 2017

I’ve worked on the same 4 projects this month as last month. I finished the stitching on the little gingerbread house ornament, but haven’t made it into a house yet. The ornaments that go along the bottom and around the door had little dots of white in the center. I stitched them as Jessicas and put a white bead in the center. The round windows were also done with Jessicas.

I continued to work on the ABC canvas for the granddaughter due in Feb. I’ve gotten a few more letters and matching items done. I’d like to finish these top 3 rows this month, which is really pushing it.

It doesn’t look like I got a lot done on the ASOW tall ship. I worked on the masts first, getting the one on the left done and half of the center one. The two crow’s nests are done (brown and white) and you’ll also notice that there are smaller ones higher up (golden brown and black). I’ve also completed 5 more rows of the sky on the left and a little extra work on several rows to the left of the masts to make way for more of the rigging.

Checking the photo of the entire piece, I found that I’m actually about half done now!! Here is the whole piece so far (minus a tiny bit of the top):

And finally the Persian Qum rug. The bottom right corner is finished and I’ve started working up the right side of the outer border. I’ve also started the next two parts of the design – the archway and it’s border. The branches have been started on both sides and the first two repeats of the arch border are done. I’ve added a few leaves on the left and one flower. I need to decide if the flower stitch (Jessica with a Smyrna Cross center) will work and if it is the right size. There will be 5-6 of them along this branch to be repeated another inch or so up the branch and in a different color. Just stitched this flower today so I can look at it as I work on other areas to see if I like it. The rug is 13.5″ wide and will grow to about 20″ when done.

This month I want to get two repeats of the blue motif up both sides and get about 2-3″ of the arch done on both sides. (That might be wishful thinking on my part)

6 responses to “Needlepoint Update – November 2017

  1. That tall ship is amazing, Jan. The rigging looks so complicated as you get towards the middle. As you fill in more sky, I’m appreciating the stitch you chose that conveys so much movement. Please show us a pic of the gingerbread house when you’ve assembled it. And you’re moving along with the sampler and rug.

  2. I love the ASOP. Can’t help it,it is my favorite after the blue heron. Maybe because I don’t do needlepoint, it just totally fascinates me!! As always, I so much appreciate you sharing your progress photos!! Happy stitching, Jan!!! With the holidays fast approaching, ( we put up Hector, the protector today!). He’s a little confused, he’s always lived in Maumelle before but he looks fantastic here in Heber Springs!! Happy Thanksgiving!!

  3. I would be hopefully lost in the rigging of that ship, and you are doing such a great job on it! Love the rug and the others as well.

Leave a Reply

