Cross Stitch Update – November 2017

The last month has not been kind. With the fires early in October, we didn’t feel like doing anything except worry and plan an exit if we needed it (thankfully, we didn’t need to leave).

I wasn’t interested in working on any of the projects that I had been working on, so I started a new one – Love You More. I was happily stitching away, starting in the middle with the word “you” and then started on the word “Love” that was just to the left. As I started on the Capital L I noticed that I was running out of room and wouldn’t have room for the borders. So I stopped to figure it out. I guess I assumed that the piece was a square and it wouldn’t matter which way I started my stitching. But it is wider than it is tall and I had started stitching in the wrong direction. So I spent several days frogging it all out – ove you. So now I have restarted and here is my progress so far:

The little piece on the left is the start of the letter “e ” in love.

And that didn’t end the problems either. I pick up the Norfolk Sampler on the weekends, trying a little at a time to get it completed. So I pulled it out one Saturday and it didn’t look quite right. The last thing I worked on the last time it was out – the border on the right side. Then I figured out what was wrong – the blue background was a different shade of blue that had to be frogged out and restitched. I have finally finished the band I was working on!

So I’m now starting on the last band and the border which will run across the bottom too. The first octagon is outlined. There will be more colors around each octagon and then they will be filled in with designs done over 1 thread like the verse that was stitched last year. This will be slow going.

The last piece is the cat stocking that I’m doing for myself – it will NOT be done in time for Christmas this year. But I’ll keep working on it and get it done, hopefully before I have to start on the two stockings for new granddaughters next year.

I had the toe done last month and the heel is almost done but needs backstitching. The blue and green gift box is done and I’ve just started the top of the box. The cat will look better when the back stitching is done. I love these two kitties – just like Julius and Daisy who died. When this section is done, then I’ll start working my up the stocking, with more kitties to come.

Then the last “bad” news. My right hand is hurting again. I’ve done a wax treatment for 3 evenings now, but if I try to stitch it makes my hand hurt again. So I haven’t stitched since Friday evening. It’s driving me crazy to see all my projects and know I can’t do any stitching on them. I tried yesterday and gave up after about 20 minutes. So I need to take a few more days off before I try again.

So I’ve been reading, pulling threads for the cross stitch stocking for little Emmi next year, ordering thread for the needlepoint stocking that I showed in the post about Barbara Fox that I’ll stitch for little Penelope next year, finding some new pasta recipes to try, getting my To Do list for 2018 stitching ready, etc. But I’m bored!!!! I’ll try a little stitching on Wed. and see how things go.

The rest of this year will be much better – I’m sure of that!! Happy stitching everyone!

SaveSave

4 responses to “Cross Stitch Update – November 2017

  1. Hopefully November is much much better in both the stitching department (no more frogging) and your hand will feel better soon.

  2. Despite all the bad luck you were having, the progress you did make looks gorgeous. I love the cute kittens on the stocking. Hope you can get back to stitching soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

